# The 5<sup>th</sup> International Conference on Smart Grid Synchronized Measurements and Analytics

## SGSMA 2026 – http://sgsma2026.cl





### June 1-4, 2026 Santiago de Chile, Chile

USACH Departamento De ingeniería Eléctrica

2026

The broad electrification of the world economy, the continued deployment of renewables and the expansive means to reduce carbon emissions requires a reliable and resilient electric grid. Ensuring power system security and stability requires accurate, timely and verified synchronized measurements of time varying and noisy current and voltage signals, collected across vast electrical grids, numerous different electrical components and in the presence of volatile renewable energy sources. Synchronized measurements and their analysis support operational control and may enhance decisions in generation and grid investments. The infrastructure that enables, transmits, secures and stores synchronized measurements (incl. the cloud) becomes crucially important, too. *The International Conference on Smart Grid Synchronized Measurements and Analytics 2026 (SGSMA 2026) is the leading forum for disseminating the latest research and innovations on this multi-faceted topic.* 

Examples of topics of interest – all on synchronized measurements and their systems/devices:

- Bad data detection and troubleshooting
- Metrics for performance evaluation
- Wide-area monitoring, control and protection of the electrical grid, microgrids and industrial plants
- Analytics and visualization of infrastructure
- Cyber-physical security
- Next generation control centers, IEC 61850 interface
- Optimal placement
- Theoretical and fundamental advances
- Accuracy of waveform and phasor calculation

#### Important Dates:

EXTENDED FINAL Deadline for Abstract Submissions Decisions on Abstracts & Full Paper Submission Opens Deadline for Full Paper Submissions Tutorial/Workshop/Panels Proposals Decisions on Full Papers & Proposals, Registrations Open Deadline for PhD Dissertation Competition Submissions Finalists of PhD Dissertation Competition Contacted Final Paper Submissions Early Bird Registration Deadline · Signal processing for waveform components estimation

- Modeling, simulation and digital twins
- Time synchronization, clock sources, signal dissemination, instrumentation & uncertainty
- Certification, commissioning, field testing & calibration
- · Sensors, communications & computing analytics
- · Databases & integration with legacy systems & the cloud
- · Educational needs and development
- Experiences & views from IEEE WiP & YPs, and CIGRE Women in Energy & Next Generation Network



### SGSMA 2026 Committees & Organizers

#### **Conference Chair**

Hector Chavez, Univesity of Santiago de Chile, Chile

#### **SGSMA Association Board**

**President:** Mladen Kezunovic, Texas A&M University, USA **Secretary**: Mario Paolone, EPFL, Switzerland Hamed Mohsenian-Rad, University of California, USA Carlo Muscas, University of Cagliari, Italy Wanda Reder, Reder Advisors, LLC, USA

#### SGSMA Association

Jaime Cepeda, Escuela Politécnica Nacional, Ecuador Joe Chow, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA Payman Dehghanian, George Washington University, USA Evangelos Farantatos, EPRI, USA Guglielmo Frigo, METAS, Switzerland Antonio Gomez Exposito, University of Seville, Spain Liisa Haarla, Fingrid, Finland Kevin Jones, Dominion Energy, USA Petr Korba, ZHAW School of Engineering, Switzerland Yilu Liu, University of Tennessee, USA Chao Lu, Tsinghua University, China Antonello Monti, RWTH Aachen University, Germany Lars Nordström, Royal Institute of Technology KTH, Sweden Kjetil Obstfelder Uhlen, NTNU, Norway Marjan Popov, TU Delft, Netherlands Anurag Srivastava, West Virginia University, USA Suresh Chandra Srivastava, IIT Kanpur, India Glauco Taranto, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Vladimir Terzija, Newcastle University, UK

#### Local Organizing Committee

Karina Barbosa, Univesity of Santiago de Chile, Chile Matias Diaz, Univesity of Santiago de Chile, Chile Claudia Rahman, University of Chile, Chile Rodrigo Palma, University of Chile, Chile Rodrigo Moreno, University of Chile, Chile Ricardo Alvarez, Federico Santa María Technical University, Chile Aldo Barrueto, Federico Santa María Technical University, Chile Luis Gutierrez, Adolfo Ibáñez University, Chile Miguel Torres, University of the Andes, Chile Hector Kaschel, University of Santiago de Chile, Chile Eduardo Viera, University of La Serena, Chile

#### **CIGRE/IEEE Coordination Committee**

Nenad Uzelac, IEEE/CIGRE Liaison, G&W Electric Co, USA Rannveig Loken, CIGRE TC Chair, Statnett, Norway Dianne Watkins, IEEE PES TC Chair, Luma Energy, USA Biljana Stojkovska, CIGRE WIE Vice Chair, BP, GB Elli Ntakou, IEEE WiP Chair, Eversource Energy, USA

#### **Technical Program Committee**

<u>Lead</u>: Panayiotis (Panos) Moutis, City College of New York, USA <u>Co-Lead</u>: Sara Sulis, University of Cagliari, Italy

#### **PhD Dissertation Competition Subcommittee**

Lead: Mihaela Albu, Polithecnica University of Bucharest, Romania Co-Lead: Shuchismita Biswas, PNNL, USA

#### Panels Coordination Subcommittee

Lead: Rafael Segundo, ZHAW School of Engineering, Switzerland Co-Lead: Jaime Cepeda, CENACE, Ecuador

#### **Tutorials Coordination Subcommittee**

Lead: Anamitra Pal, Arizona State University, USA Co-Lead: Anita Oommen, Electranet, Australia Co-Lead: Kaustav Chatterjee, PNNL, USA

#### Members

Markos Asprou, University of Cyprus, Cyprus Sadegh Azizi, Leeds University, UK Steven Blair, Synaptec, UK Jeff Dagle, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, PNNL, USA György Dán, Royal Institute of Technology KTH, Sweden Asja Derviskadic, Swissgrid AG, Switzerland Anamika Dubey, WSU, USA Junho Hong, University of Michigan-Dearborn, USA Ciprian Hosu, Western Power, Australia Chandan Kumar, POSOCO, India David Macii, University of Trento, Italy Patrick Panciatici, RTE, France Dario Petri, University of Trento, Italy Ferdinanda Ponci, Aachen University, Germany Athula Rajapakse, University of Manitoba, Canada Barry Rawn, Carnegie Mellon University, Rwanda Reza Razzaghi, Monash University, Australia Christian Rehtanz, Technical University of Dortmund, Germany Renata Rubesa, Hops, Croatia Ankush Sharma, IIT Kanpur, India Aaron Snyder, Enernex, USA Gilles Torresan, RTE, France Sergio Toscani, Politecnico di Milano, Italy Kjetil Uhlen, NTNU, Norway Luigi Vanfretti, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA Mani Venkatasubramanian, Washington State University, USA Yang Weng, Arizona State University, USA











## SGSMA 2026 - http://sgsma2026.cl