# The 5th International Conference on Smart Grid Synchronized **Measurements and Analytics**



# SGSMA 2026 - http://sgsma2026.cl







# June 1-4, 2026 Santiago de Chile, Chile



The broad electrification of the world economy, the continued deployment of renewables and the expansive means to reduce carbon emissions requires a reliable and resilient electric grid. Ensuring power system security and stability requires accurate, timely and verified synchronized measurements of time varying and noisy current and voltage signals, collected across vast electrical grids, numerous different electrical components and in the presence of volatile renewable energy sources. Synchronized measurements and their analysis support operational control and may enhance decisions in generation and grid investments. The infrastructure that enables, transmits, secures and stores synchronized measurements (incl. the cloud) becomes crucially important, too. The International Conference on Smart Grid Synchronized Measurements and Analytics 2026 (SGSMA 2026) is the leading forum for disseminating the latest research and innovations on this multi-faceted topic.

# Exampls of topics of interest – all on synchronized measurements and their systems/devices:

- Bad data detection and troubleshooting
- Metrics for performance evaluation
- Wide-area monitoring, control and protection of the electrical grid, microgrids and industrial plants
- Analytics and visualization of infrastructure
- Cyber-physical security
- Next generation control centers, IEC 61850 interface
- Optimal placement
- Theoretical and fundamental advances
- Accuracy of waveform and phasor calculation

- · Signal processing for waveform components estimation
- Modeling, simulation and digital twins
- Time synchronization, clock sources, signal dissemination, instrumentation & uncertainty
- Certification, commissioning, field testing & calibration
- Sensors, communications & computing analytics
- Databases & integration with legacy systems & the cloud
- **Educational needs and development**
- Experiences & views from IEEE WiP & YPs, & CIGRE Women in Energy & Next Generation Network

# **Important Dates:**

**Abstract Submission Opens:** 

**Deadline for Abstract Submissions: Decisions on Abstracts and Full Paper Submission Opens:** 

Deadline for Full Paper Submissions: Tutorial/Workshop/Panels Proposals:

Decisions on Full Papers & Proposals, Registrations Open: Feb. 15th, 2026

Students' Travel Grant Applications and PhD Dissertation **Competition Submissions:** 

Students' Travel Grant and PhD Dissertation Competition

**Decisions and Final Paper Submissions:** 

Early Bird Registration Deadline:

March 1st, 2026 March 15th, 2026 May 15th, 2026

June 1st, 2025

July 15th, 2025

Sep. 5th, 2025

Oct. 15th, 2025

Oct. 31, 2025

Previous technical sponsorship:









# **SGSMA 2026 Committees & Organizers**

## Conference Chairs

Hector Chavez, Univesity of Santiago de Chile, Chile

## SGSMA Association Board

President: Mladen Kezunovic, Texas A&M University, USA Secretary: Mario Paolone, EPFL, Switzerland Hamed Mohsenian-Rad, University of California, USA Carlo Muscas, University of Cagliari, Italy Wanda Reder, Grid-X Partners, LLC, USA

#### SGSMA Association

Jaime Cepeda, CENACE, Ecuador

Joe Chow, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA Payman Dehghanian, George Washington University, USA Evangelos Farantatos, EPRI, USA Guglielmo Frigo, METAS, Switzerland Antonio Gomez Exposito, University of Seville, Spain Liisa Haarla, Fingrid, Finland Kevin Jones, Dominion Energy, USA Petr Korba, ZHAW School of Engineering, Switzerland Yilu Liu, University of Tennessee, USA Chao Lu, Tsinghua University, China Antonello Monti, RWTH Aachen University, Germany Lars Nordström, Royal Institute of Technology KTH, Sweden Kjetil Obstfelder Uhlen, NTNU, Norway Marjan Popov, TU Delft, Netherlands Anurag Srivastava, West Virginia University, USA Suresh Chandra Srivastava, IIT Kanpur, India Glauco Taranto, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Vladimir Terzija, Newcastle University, UK Andrei Zhukov, Royal Observatory of Belgium, Belgium

## Local Organizing Committee

Karina Barbosa, Univesity of Santiago de Chile, Chile
Christian Becker, Univesity of Santiago de Chile, Chile
Umberto Verdejo, Univesity of Santiago de Chile, Chile
Matias Diaz, Univesity of Santiago de Chile, Chile
Claudia Rahman, University of Chile, Chile
Rodrigo Palma, University of Chile, Chile
Rodrigo Moreno, University of Chile, Chile
Ricardo Alvarez, Federico Santa María Technical University, Chile
Aldo Barrueto, Federico Santa María Technical University, Chile
Luis Gutierrez, Adolfo Ibáñez University, Chile
Lorenzo Reyes, Austral University of Chile, Chile
Miguel Torres, University of the Andes, Chile
Eduardo Viera, University of La Serena, Chile

# CIGRE/IEEE Coordination Committee

Nenad Uzelac, IEEE/CIGRE Liaison, G&W Electric Co, USA Rannveig Loken, CIGRE TC Chair, Statnett, Norway Dianne Watkins, IEEE PES TC Chair, Luma Energy, USA Biljana Stojkovska, CIGRE WIE Vice Chair, BP, GB Elli Ntakou, IEEE WIP Chair, Eversource Energy, USA











# **Technical Program Committee**

<u>Lead</u>: Panayiotis (Panos) Moutis, City College of New York, USA <u>Co-Lead</u>: Sara Sulis, University of Cagliari, Italy

## **PhD Dissertation Competition Subcommittee**

Lead: Mihaela Albu, Polithecnica University of Bucharest, Romania Co-Lead: Shuchismita Biswas, PNNL, USA

#### **Panels Coordination Subcommittee**

Lead: Rafael Segundo, ZHAW School of Engineering, Switzerland Co-Lead: Jaime Cepeda, CENACE, Ecuador

# **Tutorials Coordination Subcommittee**

Lead: Anamitra Pal, Arizona State University, USA Co-Lead: Anita Oommen, Electranet, Australia Co-Lead: Kaustav Chatterjee, PNNL, USA

#### **Members**

Markos Asprou, University of Cyprus, Cyprus Sadegh Azizi, Leeds University, UK Steven Blair, Synaptec, UK Jeff Dagle, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, PNNL, USA György Dán, Royal Institute of Technology KTH, Sweden Asja Derviskadic, Swissgrid AG, Switzerland Anamika Dubey, WSU, USA Junho Hong, University of Michigan-Dearborn, USA Ciprian Hosu, Western Power, Australia Chandan Kumar, POSOCO, India David Macii, University of Trento, Italy Patrick Panciatici, RTE, France Dario Petri, University of Trento, Italy Ferdinanda Ponci, Aachen University, Germany Athula Rajapakse, University of Manitoba, Canada Barry Rawn, Carnegie Mellon University, Rwanda Reza Razzaghi, Monash University, Australia Christian Rehtanz, Technical University of Dortmund, Germany Renata Rubesa, Hops, Croatia Ankush Sharma, IIT Kanpur, India Aaron Snyder, Enernex, USA Gilles Torresan, RTE, France Sergio Toscani, Politecnico di Milano, Italy Kjetil Uhlen, NTNU, Norway Luigi Vanfretti, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA Mani Venkatasubramanian, Washington State University, USA Yang Weng, Arizona State University, USA